Dreams to Reality

2013-01-12 04.24.52Don’t you love January? I do. It is the time for setting goals and planning. I don’t do resolutions. I never keep them. I need something more tangible, with steps to carry out my goals. From these beginning steps, I find great motivation. I love all the ideas swirling madly in my mind, putting them on paper and making sensible plans to meet them.

Last week, Robert, Skylar and I sat down for our annual planning meeting. We pulled out the notes from last year’s meeting to see what we had achieved, what we wanted to move over to this year’s goal list and what new goals we wanted to accomplish. It was very exciting! In 2012, we introduced the American Girl/18” Doll Birthday Party. We offered the Tee Shirt Decorating Party, Tutu Making Party, Fairy Wing Decorating Party and the Headband Decorating Party. We added Party Hats to our shop and, after a request from a customer for Little Girl Fairy Wings and Tutus, we decided to added these to our shop, as well. These have all been a great success!

This year’s doll donation was bigger than 2011’s. We gave more dolls and many more outfits with each doll. We also included a tote for each doll. My earlier posting tells all about this highlight of our year.

After moving several items from our 2012 goal list to 2013’s we were ready to get all the whirling ideas from our heads to paper. I am sleeping better now because it is on paper. We don’t want to divulge too much here, but let me say this: If you have a little girl’s birthday party in your future, you will want to start following us! We have some great things planned. If the little dolls in your family ever get hungry, well let’s just say, you will want to keep an eye out for this new line. We will also introduce clothes for Bitty Baby! We love her and we feel she needs her own It’s Sew Susan wardrobe. And, last, but not least, ummm, hmmm, do I tell you? Let’s just say, if you enjoyed this posting: https://itssewsusan.wordpress.com/2011/11/ you will definitely want to stick around!

The brainstorming is so exhilarating. Planning it is motivating.  At age 13, Skylar had a lot of wonderful ideas, which we are implementing, too. It has been fun giving you a sneak peek at just a few of our 2013 goals. I am so inspired! My mojo level is very high. Off I go to turn these goals-on-paper into a reality!

“Making little girls smile. This is why I sew.”

Susan

2 thoughts on “Dreams to Reality

  1. You are so inspirational! How great to have a dream and take tangible steps to achieve it. I’m great on the dreaming and planning part, but not good at the actually doing things part. What an amazing legacy you are giving Skylar in teaching her that there are alternatives to the 9 to 5 humdrum life. I applaud you and am inspired by you!
    Diane

  2. Thank you, Diane. I had a friend teach me the importance of using a datebook, years ago. I can’t live without one, now. Although I could use an iPad or something electronic, I like the feel of a datebook in my hand. I have learned the trick to achieving your goals is weekly meetings, with the goals in hand, and asking “What will we do THIS week to get us closer to achieving our goals?” It’s a struggle, but we have a goal of doing this more regularly this year.

    I hope someday, Skylar will take over our business. She is only 13, but she loves to design clothes. If nothing else, this will be a stepping stone for her to achieve her goals.

    Thanks for your kind words!

    Susan

Leave a Reply

