A Better Christmas…….

We were so excited last fall to start a charitable donation fund. After deciding to give 10% right off the top of our sales, we began thinking about who our recipients would be.

I began thinking about how much I loved my dolls, as a little girl. I had several and each one was special to me. I remember lining them up in bed with me, at night. I could never have chosen a favorite to sleep with me. I remember one Christmas night very well.

We had been to my grandparent’s for a traditional Christmas dinner and celebration with all our relations, as my grandmother called them. Returning home, to my horror, I had left my new Miss Revlon doll at Grandma’s. My parents assured me Grandma would take good care of her till morning, but I would have nothing to do with THAT. Tender-heartedly, my dad returned to Grandma’s, in the late hours of the night, so he could once again gift me with Miss Revlon.

As I was reminiscing , I thought of the little girls who don’t even have one doll, and they won’t  get one this Christmas, either. So many things prevent us from giving our children all we wish we could. Loss of jobs, injuries, illness, a death in the family.  I can’t imagine how disappointing it would be to wish for a doll and not get one. I remember 15 years ago, as a single mom, saving all year to buy my daughter an American Girl Doll for Christmas. This year, there will be many disheartened parents who just can’t  pull this off.

So, with your help, we will be making wishes come true. With your help, we will able be buy dolls for very deserving little girls. We are going to go back to our first sales, so everyone who has already purchased something from us will have opportunity to be part of putting a smile on these little girl’s hearts and faces.  In addition to the dolls, It’s Sew Susan will give outfits to go with the dolls. As I am sewing, I will make extra outfits, just for this purpose.

We will be donating the dolls to Keaton Raphael Memorial in Roseville, California (www.childcancer.org/chapters/roseville) via the Rocklin South MOMS Club. To date, we have $180..00 (updated 12/08/2011) to buy dolls. We found a fantastic price on some dolls. We’ve purchased 10!!! Yay!!!. As the sales continue, we will keep adding dolls. We started a box of clothes for the dolls several months ago. I am also adding gently used clothes from my collection, so these dolls will have a nice wardrobe. We will take some pictures so we can all enjoy this together.

I want to thank all of YOU for YOUR part in this. It has been very exciting to see the funds grow.

So here’s to a better Christmas for as many little girls as we can bless!

More updates very soon.

Leave a comment